Skip to content
Open today: 12-17
Free admission
Main menu hidden.

Mirror's Edge

1999-11-21 to 2000-02-20

Mirror's Edge is a large thematic group exhibition with 25 participating artists. Curator is Okwui Enwezor, formerly the artistic director of the 2nd Johannesburg Biennale 1997. Enwezor is also the founder and publisher of the Nka magazine and will as well be the artistic director of Documenta XI in the year 2002. Mirror's Edge opens on 21 November 1999 at Bildmuseet in Umeå, Sweden. The exhibition tour includes Vancouver Art Gallery, Castello di Rivoli in Turin and Tramway in Glasgow.

Mirror´s Edge deals with the conditions of subjectivity, reality and fiction in works of contemporary artists at the end of the century. Many of the works are site specific and specially produced for Mirror's Edge. Participating artists: Franz Ackermann, Francis Alxs, Beth Coleman/Howard Goldkrand, Thomas Demand, Cecilia Edefalk, Ceal Floyer, Meschac Gaba, Carlos Garaicoa, Thomas Hirschhorn, Henrik Håkansson, Arthur Jafa, Rei Kawakubo, Bodys Isek Kingelez, Bill Lundberg, Steve McQueen, N55, Olu Oguibe, Raymond Pettibon, Liisa Roberts, Joachim Schönfeldt, Yinka Shonibare, Peter Spaans, Thomas Struth, Hiroshi Sugimoto, Pascale Marthine Tayou and Sophie Tottie.

A catalogue accompanies the exhibition. Texts by Meena Alexander, Carlos Basualdo, Matthew DeBord, Okwui Enwezor, Jean Fisher, Jan-Erik Lundström and John Peter Nilsson. 184 pages, printed in full colour with English text and Swedish translations as appendix. With 125 illustrations not only featuring the works of the exhibition, but also previous works and the cv's of the participating artists.

In connection with the opening of the show, Bildmuseet organises a two day symposium which will take place on Monday the 22nd and Tuesday the 23rd of November at Aula Nordica, Umeå University. The event is devoted to issues in contemporary cultural production in relation to concerns activated through the works in Mirror´s Edge.

Mirror's Edge is produced by Bildmuseet.

Generous support provided by:
American-Scandinavian Foundation, Baltic-gruppen, British Council, The Foundation Culture of the Future, Goethe-Institut, IASPIS, IfA, Mondriaan Foundation, NIFCA, Pro Helvetia, SAS, The Swedish Institute, The Swedish National Council for Cultural Affairs, Umeå Municipality and Umeå University.